How to Watch Underworld Movies in Order

Today this blog will take you on a journey through the supernatural world of werewolves and vampires in the Underworld movie series. With its distinctive blend of horror, romance, and mythology, this series of action-packed films has captivated audiences for nearly two decades.

From the ancient conflict between vampires and Lycans to the current struggle for supremacy in the underworld, we will explore the Underworld Movies in Order!

Prepare to delve deeply into this thrilling cinematic universe and unravel the mysteries of its immortal inhabitants. There is something here for everyone, whether you are a devoted follower or a novice to the series. Therefore, grab some popcorn and accompany us on this incredible journey through the Underworld films.

Underworld Movies In Order:

Underworld Movies in Order

With Prequels and Sequels, there is so much the underworld movies have to offer to a plethora of audiences. For those of you who need a quick fix, here is the chronological order of the Underworld Movies, but don’t feel shy to dive deeper to know more about the movies!

  • Underworld: Rise of the Lycans was released on 23 January 2009.
  • Underworld was released on 19 September 2003.
  • Underworld: Evolution was released on 20 January 2006.
  • Underworld: Awakening was released on 20 January 2012.
  • Underworld: Blood Wars was released on 2 December 2016. 

How To Watch Underworld Movies In Chronological Order?

So here’s everything you need to know about the Underworld movies! Now it’s on you to decide your favorite or use this guide to binge-watch the movies according to your comfort!

1. Underworld: Rise Of The Lycans (2009)

Underworld Rise Of The Lycans 2009

Underworld: The 2009 action-horror film Rise of the Lycans is a prequel to the original Underworld. The subject of this investigation is the license and the vampires’ centuries-old rivalry, which was briefly hinted at in the first film. The relationship between Lucian, a Lycan slave, and Sonja, the daughter of the elder vampire Viktor, is the story’s focus, which takes place in medieval times.

See also  What Does TV-MA Mean?

Lucian and Sonja start a secret relationship despite their different backgrounds and the taboo nature of their love, which threatens to disrupt the fragile peace between the two species. Viktor is enraged when Sonja becomes pregnant with Lucian’s child and orders her execution.

This sets off a series of events that result in an all-out war between Lycans and vampires. The movie has a lot of intense action, amazing visual effects, and strong performances from people like Rhona Mitra and Michael Sheen, who play Lucian and Sonja, respectively.

2. Underworld: (2003)

Underworld (2003)

The 2003 action-horror film Underworld introduced audiences to the world of Lycans—vampires and werewolves—and their centuries-long rivalry. Selene, a skilled vampire warrior dedicated to eradicating the Lycans after they killed her family as a child, is the movie’s protagonist.

Michael Corvin, a human, is attacked by a group of Lycans and left for dead, which makes Selene suspicious. Selene realizes that Michael may be the key to a plan by the Lycans to create a hybrid that could kill both species when he exhibits strange abilities.

Selene and Michael run into a powerful vampire elder named Kraven, who has his agenda as they race to discover the truth about the Lycan plan. They engage in intense combat, learn about their pasts, and form unlikely alliances. 

Kate Beckinsale’s performance as Selene, Scott Speedman’s performance as Michael, and Bill Nighy’s performance as Viktor, the older vampire, make Underworld a household name. The movie created a thriving franchise with four additional films and devoted fans.

3. Underworld: Evolution (2006)

Underworld Evolution 2006

Underworld: The 2006 action-horror film Evolution is a sequel to the original Underworld. Selene and Michael are on the run from vampires and Lycans in this sequel, attempting to learn the truth about their pasts.

See also  What Does TV-PG Mean?

The film delves even deeper into the mythology of the Underworld universe, looking into the species’ origins and the evil forces that have shaped their fate. Powerful adversaries are pursuing Michael and Selene on both sides. These adversaries include William, the first and most powerful Lycan, Marcus, a senior vampire attempting to resurrect his long-dead brother, and William.

The film expands on the mythology of the Underworld universe and builds on the groundwork laid by the first one, laying the groundwork for subsequent installments in the franchise.

4. Underworld: Awakening (2012)

Underworld Awakening 2012

The 2012 action-horror film Awakening is the fourth installment in the Underworld series. Selene awakens from a cryogenic sleep several years after the previous film’s events to find that the world has changed.

Humans have discovered Lycans and vampires, which are now hunted and persecuted. Selene must navigate this new world and fight to safeguard Eve, her hybrid daughter, who has the power to alter the underworld’s power balance.

As Selene and Eve try to escape, they run into a group of humans who sympathize with their situation and make new enemies, like Quint, the powerful leader of the Lycans, who wants to take Eve for his purposes. Selene learns shocking details about her past and the history of the hybrid species along the way. The film takes the series in a new direction by posing new questions about the underworld’s future.

5. Underworld: Blood Wars (2016)

Underworld Blood Wars 2016

The 2016 action-horror film Blood Wars is the fifth installment in the Underworld series. It follows Selene as she is pursued by the Lycans and Vampires who want to take her daughter Eve and use her hybrid blood for great power.

Selene hides out with a group of vampires, including the powerful vampire elder Thomas and his protégé David, who are willing to help her defend Eve. As Selene and her allies prepare for battle, they have to deal with a new foe: Marius, the cruel leader of the Lycans who wants to kill everyone and rule the underworld.

See also  10 Best Movies on Tubi: Must Watch in 2024

Selene must confront her mortality and face personal challenges, including doubts about her abilities and past actions. In addition, the film delves into the intricate politics and power struggles between the vampire and Lycan factions, shedding new light on the past of the underworld.

Blood Wars is well-known for its intense action scenes, stunning visual effects, and strong performances from Kate Beckinsale, Theo James, and Lara Pulver, who plays Marius, the evil villain.


With its distinctive mythology, intense action sequences, and strong performances from its lead actors, the action-horror series The Underworld has become a fan favorite. The series has developed over time, focusing on the origins of vampires and Lycans, the intricate politics and power struggles between the factions, and the effects their actions have had on the world.

Our list of underworld movies order has also discussed memorable characters like the skilled vampire warrior Selene, the powerful vampire elder Viktor, and the ruthless Lycan leader Marius was introduced in the series. The films have consistently impressed viewers with their stunning effects and thrilling action sequences, keeping them on the edge of their seats.

Leave a Comment